DC PCSAA Sports League | DC PCSAA Sports powered by SportsMarkit
DC Public Charter School Athletic Association: PCSAA Sports powered by SportsMarkit
PCSAA, DC PCSAA, DC, DCIAA, DCSAA, Public Charter School Athletic Association, Football, Basketball, soccer, softball, baseball, track and field, middle school, high school, flag football, girls basketball, cheerleading,, boys basketball, cross country, tennis, Youth Basketball Youth Football, Washington, DC, SportsMarkit, Maryland, Virginia, DMV, Flag Football, 7 on 7, Passing League, Tackle Football,
730
page-template-default,page,page-id-730,qode-quick-links-1.0,woocommerce-no-js,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,columns-4,qode-theme-ver-11.1,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive

Title IX

DCSAA GENDER EQUITY INITIATIVES

The DCSAA is committed to ensuring and encouraging gender equity within all District athletic programs and supports initiatives to increase participation among young women and girls as well as ensure a safe environment for all women and girls in athletics.  The DCSAA annually participates in National Girls and Women in Sports Day and conducts Title IX training sessions for school athletic administrators and coaches.

 

FEDERAL TITLE IX

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 was the first comprehensive federal law to prohibit sex discrimination against students and employees of educational institutions. It is one of several federal and state anti-discrimination laws that define and ensure equality in education. The regulations implementing Title IX, published in 1975, prohibit discrimination, exclusion, denial, limitation, or separation based on gender.

 

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA TITLE IX LEGISLATION

The District of Columbia recently passed the Title IX Athletic Equity Act of 2015. This law requires that all District public and public charter schools submit detailed information about their athletic programs to the DCSAA annually. The law also requires that each Local Education Agency (LEA) designate a Title IX Athletic Coordinator and that each school designate a Title IX Athletic Liaison. The law was passed in an effort to ensure gender equity within athletics for all District student athletes.

 

TITLE IX ATHLETIC EQUITY ACT OF 2015

The Title IX Athletic Equity Act of 2015 was passed by the DC Council and signed by Mayor Bowser on July 31, 2015.

In accordance with this Act the DCSAA has collected athletic program data from applicable high schools for the 2016-17 school year. The full report detailing the data collection process, individual school data, and DCSAA’s plans for addressing Title IX and gender equity issues is available by clicking on the link below.

When considering this data, it is very important to keep in mind that this data was self reported by applicable schools. In addition, this report represents data from the very first reporting year for the requirements put forth in the Act.

Click Title to Download: DCSAA Athletics Tile IX Report 2016-17

2018 TITLE IX ATHLETIC EQUITY DATA SUBMISSION

School Athletic Directors or Athletic Administrators must complete DCSAA TItle IX training in order to begin the athletic data submission process for the 2017-18 school year.

The submission process is outlined in the document link below.

DCSAA TITLE IX COORDINATOR

Natalie M. Randolph

Senior Women’s Administrator and Title IX Coordinator
District of Columbia State Athletic Association
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
Government of the District of Columbia

1050 First Street, NE, 6th Floor
Washington, DC 20002
(202)724-5383

TITLE IX ATHLETIC DATA SUBMISSION TRAINING

The DCSAA is conducting mandatory Title IX training for school athletic directors and athletic administrators.

 

The remaining dates for training are:

Tuesday, May 29th 2018

Thursday, May 31st 2018

SCHOOL NAMETITLE IX COORDINATOR (LEA)EMAIL CONTACTTITLE IX COORDINATOR (SCHOOL)EMAIL CONTACT
BASISAlice Randallalice.randall@basised.comAlice Randallalice.randall@basised.com
Capital City High School PCSKirsti Loydkloyd@ccpcs.orgJonathan Weinsteinjweinstein@ccpcs.org
Cesar Chavez PCSAlison ZgainerAlison.zgainer@Chavezschools.orgAmanda SchmittAmanda.schmitt@chavezschools.org
DC International SchoolGregg Albrightgregg.albright@dcinternationalschool.orgGregg Albrightgregg.albright@dcinternationalschool.org
EL HaynesVanessa Carlo Mirandavcarlomiranda@elhaynes.orgVanessa Carlo Mirandavcarlomiranda@elhaynes.org
Friendship Collegiate Academy PCSTamika Multsbytmaultsby@friendshipschools.orgMichael HunterMhunter@friendshipschools.org
Friendship Tech PrepTamika Multsbytmaultsby@friendshipschools.orgLynn JonesLJones@friendshipschools.org
IDEA PCSTravis Colemantcoleman@ideapcs.orgMorrell Milesmmiles@ideapcs.org
Kingsman AcademyDr. Rebertha Pope-Matthewsrpmatthews@kingsmanacademy.orgDr. Rebertha Pope-Matthewsrpmatthews@kingsmanacademy.org
KIPP College PrepLauren OutlawLauren.Outlaw@kippdc.orgLauren OutlawLauren.Outlaw@kippdc.org
Maya Angelou PCS
National Collegiate PrepClaude PresleyCpreseley@nationalprepdc.orgClaude PresleyCpreseley@nationalprepdc.org
Paul PCSPamela Merkersonpmerkerson@paulcharter.orgWill Hendersonwhenderson@paulcharter.org
Richard Wright PCSAlisha Robertsaroberts@richardwrightpcs.orgAlisha Robertsaroberts@richardwrightpcs.org
SEED PCSSonia Whiteswhite@seedschooldc.orgSharron Alexandershalexander@seedschool.org
Somerset PrepNicole Danielsndaniels@somersetprepdc.orgNicole Danielsndaniels@somersetprepdc.org
Thurgood Marshall Academy PCSAaron Hallaahall@tmapchs.orgAaron Hallaahall@tmapchs.org
Washington LatinJames Kellyjkelly@latinpcs.orgJames Kellyjkelly@latinpcs.org
Washington Leadership AcademyChristina Moorecmoore@wlapcs.orgChristinal Moorecmoore@wlapcs.org
Washington Math and ScienceEnrique Watsonewatson@wmstpchs.netEnrique Watsonewatson@wmstpchs.net